Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
'Styles' hot keys. QM 'loses it': "window not found"
Hi,

I have come back to using QuickMacros are a long break. This tiem I ma hoping you can help me solve a problem that was slowing me down a lot. Maybe I didn't try hard enough last time to ask...

I am a technical writer and my prime use of QM is for giving me hot key shortcuts to formatting styles in applications that don't provide shortcut keys. E.g, MS Word is excellent at shortcut keys, but I also work with FrameMaker and RoboHelp, neither of which offer a full style shortcuts mapping feature.

The QM shortcut that I make works for a while, but then it just seems to lose the position of the Styles window, and tells me "window not found".

So what happens when I use QM with RoboHelp is like this:

1. I first select a word in the RoboHelp text screen that I want to apply a style to.

2. I start the macro recording session, and the 'QM recording' window appears in the lower right corner of my screen.

3. I click the mouse on RoboHelp's Styles drop down box. I am careful to click on the current style name appearing in that box, and so then it is selected (highlighted).

4. I type in the full name of the style I want.

5. I press Enter on the keyboard.

6. I conclude the macro recording session by clicking on the Repl. button from the 'QM recording' window.

A typical macro I get is:

Code:
Copy      Help
int w1=act(win("RoboHelp HTML - CO UI API PG - [Changing the views settings *]" "Afx:00480000:8:00010011:00000000:*""" 0x800))
lef 64 88 w1
'SheadingV3Y

So as you see, the name of the style I have entered is 'heading 3'

7. I apply a hot key combination

8. I try using my macro. usually it works. If not , then it is because the end of the first line of my new macro somehow got an extra closing bracket ( ")" ), like this: