Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Could someone please help a newbie?
I am an accountant that purchase an external number pad with a space key. I would like to remap the space key to be tab. I would like this to work for the entire computer, but especially Excel if only one program is possible. The issue I'm having is that the space bar on my main keyboard needs to still be space.

I have been reading for a week and everything has completely gone over my head, so explain like I'm five. I have read about QM keyboard detector, but cannot find any more info than a couple of people saying they used it (whatever it is).

If you could just give me a quick step by step that would be AMAZING!

Thanks!
Step 1. Download http://www.quickmacros.com/download.html
Step 2. Install QuickMacros (Yes, run QM when windows starts)
Step 3. Run QuickMacros
Step 4. In the list on the left hand side, note the "My First Macro"
Step 5. Click the big red RECORD button (Note, it's a red circle like a VCR and QM will disappear and is replaced by the "QM Recording Dialog" it will come back when you click "Insert" button *See next step)
*Step 6. Note the "QM Recording" dialog in the bottom right corner of the screen.
Step 7. Push the "Tab" key
Step 8. Click the "Insert" button on the "QM Recording" Dialog
Macro My First Macro
Code:
Copy      Help
;---- Recorded 8/22/2013 1:54:19 AM ----
int w1=act(win("Quick Macros Forum • Post a reply - Mozilla Firefox" "Mozilla*WindowClass" "" 0x4))
'T              ;; Tab
;---------------------------------------
Step 9. Delete the line below:
Code:
Copy      Help
int w1=act(win("Quick Macros Forum • Post a reply - Mozilla Firefox" "Mozilla*WindowClass" "" 0x4))
(Note, your line will look slightly different)
Step 10. Right click on "My First Macro" and choose "Item Properties"
Step 11. In the "Trigger" tab, click on "Keyboard" from the list
Step 12. Push the spare key on your number pad (Should show up in the input box as "Num $#" is all is well)