Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Can someone help with using CSV files and Arrays?
Hello,
I'm new to scripting and I'm hoping that someone here has done this before. I would appreciate the help and it would save me a LOT of time going in circles and ending up with a mess.

I'm trying to creating a macro to open a web page that has text boxes on it and fill the multiple boxes out using information from a CSV file. It's for a company I'm working for. They want to create a bunch of accounts on a web site and would like to do it quickly with a CSV file from HR with all the employees information in it. I know there will be some sort of capchia but I can manually put that in each time. It's better than typing All of the info each time.

Anyone got time to help me get started?

Thanks for any help!
example
Macro fill web form from CSV
Code:
Copy      Help
;create CSV string for testing
str csv=
;A1, B1, C1
;A2, B2, C2
;A3, B3, C3

;load the CSV into a variable
ICsv x._create
x.FromString(csv) ;;replace to FromFile("c:\...\your CSV file.csv")

;open the web page
run "iexplore" "https://www.google.com/advanced_search"
mes- "please wait until Internet Explorer opens Google advanced search page. This macro uses it as an example of a web form with multiple edit boxes" "" "OCi"

;get IE window handle
int w=wait(3 WV win("" "IEFrame"))

;repeat for each row in CSV
int i n=x.RowCount
for i 0 n
,;find first edit box in web page
,Htm e=htm("INPUT" "as_q" "" w "0" 0 0x221 3) ;;to create this code, use dialog 'Find HTML element'
,;set its text from CSV first column
,e.SetText(x.Cell(i 0))
,;do the same with other edit boxes and CSV columns
,e=htm("INPUT" "as_epq" "" w "0" 1 0x221 3)
,e.SetText(x.Cell(i 1))
,e=htm("INPUT" "as_oq" "" w "0" 2 0x221 3)
,e.SetText(x.Cell(i 2))
,;find and click a Submit button
,e=htm("INPUT" "submit" "" w "0" 14 0x521 3)
,e.Click
,;now you can open another such form, and the macro will fill the edit boxes with next CSV row