Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Why mouse wheel F/B ok, but with <CTL> first needs rel
Hi all,

I am pretty new to QM and its programming.

My problem is that configuring a macro to be called on mouse wheeling (forward and backward) works fine; but when configured together with a modifier key (e.g. CTL), the macro is not called until that key is also released. Further, it works only this only well when Eat is enabled. When Eat is disabled the macro is not called at all, even when the CTL key is afterwards released.

Can somebody explain to me why this is the case, and what I can do to get things to work without the key being released (at all).

Another question: I am writing a suite of macros for FreeHand 9, and could not get the outp function to paste text into a selected toolbar field. It did nothing. The same macro works great for another app (Corel Draw 9). After a lot of time and hair pulling (during which I was coming to the conclusion that QM does not work with FreeHand 9) I eventually found the key command, which actually worked, allowing me to type text straight into to the output object. But why does the outp command not work?

tia

Avraham
Ctrl+wheel

Download QM 2.1.8.

outp

You probably noticed that you cannot use Ctrl+V to paste text in some text fields. To paste, you have to right click and select Paste in the menu. outp uses Ctrl+V.
So the function names out and outp are misleading. They should have been called paste.

When I started using the API I went looking for functions called write, print (printf!), and of course, out.
out doesn't out; it outs the clipboard.

Anyway, is the key function I found the most appropriate thing to use?

Maybe at some point introduce a paste function that is identical to out, but keep out just for backward compatibility.

Thanks,

avraham
out and outp are identical except:
out displays the text in the QM output pane;
outp stores the text into the clipboard and presses Ctrl+V.