Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tutorial?
Hey all, I am very new to QM, and have limited programming experience. I was looking in QM itself for some kind of tutorial, but the "Quick Start" guide wasn't very helpful. I guess I'm looking for more of a complete resource that isn't a Table of Contents like the help file. It doesn't even have to be an online resource, it could be a book. Are there any good books out there written about QM?

The specific thing I was looking to do was send keystrokes to a minimized window. (pretty simple right?)

Also, in a college class next quarter, we have to work on a project related to computers, so I was thinking of trying to make an AI that would play checkers (not online versus humans, purely against the computer). The sticking point would be finding a way to determine where the computer opponent's pieces had moved to. I was thinking that if I could sample the color of one of the pieces, and then use QM to determine the color of the screen pixel at a particular location and then make decisions based on that.

I hope that doesn't go against the policy of not interfering with games.

Anyway, help would be greatly appreciated.
Books - no. More complete tutorials also unavailable.

Sending keystrokes to inactive windows: pasting to notepad (when notepad is in background)

Checking pixel color - yes, it's possible.
check out my blog in the signature on this post. it may be just what you're looking for.
An old blog on QM coding and automation.

The Macro Hook
I have tried most automation softwares in the market and here may be a helping hand pointers.

Be direct to the point
No lengthy macro commands
and if a macro goes to a greater inevitable length then use interactive shortcuts so the user does not have to program much.
This will be good for the novice users as well who just want to use QM without wasting much programming time.

Say for example in Excel:

Ask the user for the file name and directory: