Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Could this be done with a macro, or require programming?
I'm sorry to ask such a naive question, but I'm new to this product.

1) I have a flat text file with distinct field markers (pipe delimited fields with newline records)

2) I need to feed the flat text file fields into a web-based application (nothing weird, just alpha-numeric text into browser fields -- a web-based form)

It's really just a plug and chug -- I don't need any logic at all.

So I have three questions:

1) Does the existing macro language allow for basic text file access and line-item parsing (i.e. searching for delimiters)? Or do I need to go straight to the programming API (i.e. the C# routines)?

2) Do web-based applications pose any additional challenges? How does the application know if the web page has refreshed and/or accepted the data? Does the QM script depend on the browser?

... and the most important question:

3) Is there anyone here who would be willing to look at my project in greater detail and do 4/8 hours of consulting and programming? If this first application works, there are several (6+) client applications that I would need to force-feed this flat file into.

Thank you in advance,

Brian
1) and 2)
Macro parse text file (table) and populate web form
Code:
Copy      Help
out
;create a file with a text table for testing
str testFile="$temp$\test.txt"
str testTable=
;a | b|c
;d|e| f
testTable.setfile(testFile)

;variables
ARRAY(str) a; int i
int isCSV=0 ;;change to 1 if the text table is in CSV format

;this code shows 2 ways of converting a text table into a 2-dim array
if isCSV
,ICsv csv._create
,csv.Separator="|"
,csv.FromFile(testFile)
,csv.ToArray(a)
else
,str s fileData.getfile(testFile)
,a.create(3 numlines(fileData))
,foreach s fileData ;;for each line
,,tok s &a[0 i] 3 "|" 0x2000 ;;split into 3 parts, using | as separator
,,i+1

;this code shows what we can do with the array.